## Lexington Democratic Town Committee Meeting Minutes April 12, 2018; 7:00 pm Cary Memorial Library, Large Meeting Room

Present: M. Coppe, I. Dondley, P. Enrich, R. Goldberg, M. Heitz, J. Moore, S. Nathan, M. Saint Louis, M. Storch, M. Victor, L. West, R. Zalisk, R. Peters, E. Zalisk, S. Foote. Associate Members: B. Afshartous, T. Burger, S. Chippada, S. Koerber. Guests: (15)

The meeting was called to order by Margaret Coppe, Co-chair, at 7:05 pm.

Ms Coppe reported that the position of Affirmative Action & Outreach Officer had been vacant due to the resignation of Judy Cooper, who had moved out of Lexington last year. She indicated that the Committee was very fortunate that Committee Member Mabel Amar has agreed to serve in this important role, and that she had already engaged in outreach by recruiting several members of Lexington's Asian-American community to attend the 2018 Lexington Town Committee Caucus.

Motion to nominate Mabel Amar for Affirmative Action & Outreach Officer Moved: M. Coppe Second: M Victor Voted: Approved unanimously

Ms Coppe further reported that there were currently three vacancies among the voting members of the Democratic Town Committee. Recording Secretary Robert D. Peters further reported that the vacancies which had occurred since the 2016 Democratic Presidential Primary ballot arose from the resignations of Zaurie Zimmerman and Judy Cooper, the achievement of 20-Year Member status by Senator Michael Barrett, and the election of Eileen Zalisk to the Democratic State Committee, and that one seat was filled at the December 2016 meeting. Mr. Peters further reported that Associate Member Janet Walker had resigned due to moving out of town, and that unfortunately 20-Year Member Margaret Bradley had passed away since the last formal meeting of the Committee.

Co-Chair Coppe proposed Sreeni Chippada to fill one of the open spots as a full voting member of the Committee. Mr. Chippada introduced himself to the Committee, and Ms Coppe called for a vote.

Motion to nominate Sreeni Chippada for Full Membership on the Democratic Town Committee.

Moved: M. Coppe Second: R. Peters Voted: Approved unanimously

Next, Ms Coppe proposed Michelle Olson to fill another of the open spots as a full voting

member of the Committee. Ms Olson introduced herself to the Committee, and Ms Coppe called for a vote.

Motion to nominate Michelle Olson for Full Membership on the Democratic Town Committee.

Moved: M. Coppe Second: L. West Voted: Approved unanimously

Next, Mr. Peters explained that, while the Committee is elected every four years on the Presidential Primary ballot, the by-laws require that the Officers and Executive Committee of the Democratic Town Committee must be re-elected every two years.

He proceeded to place in nomination the names of the current members of the Executive Committee:

Margaret Coppe, Co-Chair Marc Saint Louis, Co-Chair Irene Dondley, Treasurer & Corresponding Secretary Robert D. Peters, Recording Secretary Eileen Gordon Zalisk, Vice-Chair, Campaigns Lorraine M. West, Vice-Chair for Hospitality Robert M. Avallone, Webmaster Peter Enrich, Member-at-Large Betsy Hatfield, Member-at-Large Alan Silver, Member-at-Large Judith Pappo, Member-at-Large

Motion to re-nominate the current Executive Committee of the Democratic Town Committee to serve for two years.

Moved: R. Peters Second: M. Victor Voted: Approved unanimously

Next, Ms Coppe recognized Eileen Zalisk for updates on current campaign activities. Eileen reported on some of our candidates who do not face primary opponents this year including Senator Elizabeth Warren, Attorney General Maura Healey, Treasurer Deborah Goldberg and Auditor Suzanne Bump.

There was also discussion of the ballot questions which will be on the ballot in 2018. There will be several important questions which the Committee will want to support and work to pass, and possibly one that the Committee will want to oppose. More information will be forthcoming at a future meeting.

Ms Coppe then welcomed our guest, Donna Patalano, candidate for Middlesex District

Attorney to address the Committee. Ms Patalano made a presentation and took questions from the Committee.

Ms Coppe reminded attendees that the Lexington Democrats will be hosting a candidate forum with the announced Democratic Candidates for State Representative in the 15<sup>th</sup> Middlesex District on May 31. Also, she indicated that the 3<sup>rd</sup> Middlesex Area Democrats Annual Breakfast is scheduled for May 12.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 8:30 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Robert D. Peters Recording Clerk