Lexington Democratic Town Committee Caucus Meeting Minutes May 18, 2019; 1:00 pm Church of our Redeemer, Meeting Room, Merriam St., Lexington

Present: M. Amar, R. Avallone, M. Ciccolo, M. Coppe, P. Enrich, J. Federici, I. Goldman, M. Gentleman, S. Griffith, J. Krieger, J., Pappo, M. Saint Louis, A. Silver, M. Victor, M. Walker, S. Warren, L. West, R. Zalisk, R. Peters, M. Thompson, E. Zalisk, M. Barrett, B. Sweeney, A. Sweeney, C. Friedman, J. DiTullio, S. Liss-Reardon, B. Warren, B. McGaw, S. Mudgal.

The caucus was called to order by Margaret Coppe, Co-Chair, at 1:00 pm. Ms Coppe welcomed the group, and congratulated Sarah Warren on achieving 20-year members status on the Lexington Democratic Town Committee.

Ms Coppe then recessed the Caucus in order to recognize Elected Officials and candidates for office. She recognized Shannon Liss-Reardon, a potential candidate for US Senate, who addressed the Caucus. Next, she recognized State Senator Michael Barrett, State Senator Cindy Friedman, and Representative Michelle Ciccolo, who all addressed the Caucus.

Then, Ms Coppe returned to the business of the Caucus. Lexington would be electing eleven male and eleven female delegates, and five alternates.

The candidates for male delegate nominated were:

Bob Avallone
Stanley Griffith
Bill Sweeney
Marc Saint Louis
Ira Goldman
Bob Zalisk
Peter Enrich
Bridger McGaw
Larry Freeman
Ben Warren
Todd Burger

Since there were eleven candidates for eleven delegate spots, the Caucus voted unanimously to instruct the Clerk to cast one ballot for the slate.

Next, Ms Coppe asked for nominations for female delegate. Those nominated were:

Mary Beth Gentleman Merna Victor Mabel Amar Michelle Tom Margaret Heitz Nina Hackel Justine Federici Sharmilla Mudgal Ms Coppe indicated that three women had indicated their desire to be nominated in absentia as provided by the Delegate Selection Rules, and she then put in nomination the following names:

S. Mariah Lancaster Taylor Singh Christine Zendeh

Since there were eleven candidates for eleven delegate spots, the Caucus voted unanimously to instruct the Clerk to cast one ballot for the slate.

Ms Coppe then moved on to nominations for two female alternates. Those nominated were:

Sarah Warren Lorraine West

Since there were two candidates for two Alternate spots, the Caucus voted unanimously to instruct the Clerk to cast one ballot for the slate.

Ms Coppe then called for nominations for two male alternates. Those nominated were:

Charles James

Since there was only one candidate for two Alternate spots, the Caucus voted unanimously to instruct the Clerk to cast one ballot for the slate.

Ms Coppe then reported on upcoming events and reminded everyone to attend the Democratic Town Committee annual picnic which would be held on Monday, June 17.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:45 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Robert D. Peters Recording Clerk