

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Lexington Democrats Hold Successful Delegate Selection Caucus

CONTACT: Margaret Coppe, Co-chair, mecoppe@gmail.com 781-862-2637

The Lexington Democratic Town Committee held its 2018 Delegate Selection Caucus to select Delegates to the Massachusetts Democratic State Convention on Saturday, February 10, 2018 at the Clarke Middle School. Over 150 local Democrats turned out for the caucus, which was the largest caucus in Lexington for at least a dozen years. The Committee was thrilled to see so many newly engaged activists come to the caucus along with Committee stalwarts. Over a dozen attendees were newly registered Democrats.

Attendees heard from Secretary of State William Galvin, State Auditor Suzanne Bump, Lieutenant Governor Candidates Quentin Palfrey and Jimmy Tingle, and representatives of for the three candidates for Governor, Jay Gonzalez, Bob Massie and Setti Warren. All will be on the ballot in Massachusetts this fall.

Candidates must obtain at least 15% of the vote at the State Convention in order to appear on the Democratic Primary Ballot for the September 4, 2018 Primary. The 2018 Convention will take place on June 1 & 2 at the DCU Center in Worcester.

Female delegates elected were Mabel Amar, Deborah Brown, Sameera Chippada, Margaret Coppe, Margaret Heitz, Mary Hutton, Elisabeth Jas, Pamela Joshi, Ricki Pappo Kathleen Rowe and Taylor Singh.

Male delegates elected include Scott Bokun, Todd Burger, Sreeni Chippada, Peter Enrich, Ira Goldman, Timothy Hoffman, David Pollack, Richard Reibstein, Mark Sandeen, Zachary Steigerwald Schnall, and William Sweeney.

Alternates elected were Susan Blieden, Deborah Burger, Lisa Sandeen, Caleb Rogers and Marc Stern.

Ex-officio Delegates from Lexington include Co-Chair Marc Saint Louis, and Democratic State Committee members Robert D. Peters, David Perelman, Melanie Thompson and Eileen Zalisk. Lexington's Democratic members of the Legislature, including Senators Michael Barrett and Cindy Friedman, and Representative Jay Kaufman are also ex-officio Delegates to the Convention.

More information:

Jay Gonzalez: www.jay4ma.com

Bob Massie: www.bobmassie2018.com

Setti Warren: www.settiwarren.com

Lexington Democratic Town Committee: http://democratsoflexington.org/index.htm

Massachusetts Democratic Party: www.massdems.org